#1 Burning Software

It is currently Thu Dec 19, 2024 9:11 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 94 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:32 am
Posts: 99
I don't see any way to attach the IFO files on this forum. Do you have an email address I can send them to?

I don't have logs, but I can assure you that IFO patching is turned on in my code.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:13 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
1) Yes of course. The whole bunch of them are listed here:

http://www.rocketdivision.com/support.html

Use support@rocketdivision.com or info@rocketdivision.com as they are both aliases with me included.

2) I've seen so many times people telling me "we do this" at the time they actually did THAT so we do trust to nobody. Sorry for this!

With the source and destination IFOs but w/o VOBs I'll not be able to do anything except compare the files and tell you what you already know - the offsets are different... To understand WHY it happened I need either reproduce everything myself or get the results from "trusted" component. W/o VOBs or logs I cannot proceed either way.

Dan203 wrote:
I don't see any way to attach the IFO files on this forum. Do you have an email address I can send them to?

I don't have logs, but I can assure you that IFO patching is turned on in my code.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:32 am
Posts: 99
Well here is the DVD creat call directly from the my code...

Code:
      EXCEPTION_NUMBER ExceptionNumber =
         StarBurn_DVDVideo_Create(
            &pDVDVideo,
            vtsPath.GetBuffer(),
            TRUE,
            ExceptionText.GetBuffer(1024),
            sizeof(ExceptionText),
            &SystemError,
            sVolumeName.GetBuffer(),
            "VideoReDo",
            "VideoReDo",
            currentTime.GetYear(),
            currentTime.GetMonth(),
            currentTime.GetDay(),
            currentTime.GetHour(),
            currentTime.GetMinute(),
            currentTime.GetSecond(),
            0
         );


So you can see that I'm actually enabling the IFO patching feature. I just tried to recreate the problem on my end, but when I compared the original IFOs to the ones from StarBurn and Nero they were all the same, so no patching was necessary. Is there anything I can do to create DVD which requires patching so I can test this? Under which circumstances is patching required? Is it related to the media itself? The VOBs? I have multiple customers complaining about this, so I really need to figure out what's going on.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:32 am
Posts: 99
OK I tried again with a different video and was able to reproduce the problem where the SB output and Nero output did not match. I'm sending you the a zip file with the original files, SB burnt files and Nero burnt files right now.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:32 am
Posts: 99
OK the files were a little big for email, so I've uploaded them to my FTP instead. You can download them here...

http://www.videorehost.com/IFO_Patch_Sample.zip

it's only 10 seconds of video, but with all 3 versions it's still about 17MB.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 7:44 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
1) Probably yes. But it does not guarantee your customer has THIS version of the code running on his machine. That's why we've been asking for logs from his machine.

2) I've already told why it's needed and when you have to enable it. Please re-read the thread.

3) Again. "I have multiple customers..." is not a valid bug report. No logs, no stand alone device names, no authoring software name etc. I just don't have enough of the information to start doing something.

Dan203 wrote:
Well here is the DVD creat call directly from the my code...

Code:
      EXCEPTION_NUMBER ExceptionNumber =
         StarBurn_DVDVideo_Create(
            &pDVDVideo,
            vtsPath.GetBuffer(),
            TRUE,
            ExceptionText.GetBuffer(1024),
            sizeof(ExceptionText),
            &SystemError,
            sVolumeName.GetBuffer(),
            "VideoReDo",
            "VideoReDo",
            currentTime.GetYear(),
            currentTime.GetMonth(),
            currentTime.GetDay(),
            currentTime.GetHour(),
            currentTime.GetMinute(),
            currentTime.GetSecond(),
            0
         );


So you can see that I'm actually enabling the IFO patching feature. I just tried to recreate the problem on my end, but when I compared the original IFOs to the ones from StarBurn and Nero they were all the same, so no patching was necessary. Is there anything I can do to create DVD which requires patching so I can test this? Under which circumstances is patching required? Is it related to the media itself? The VOBs? I have multiple customers complaining about this, so I really need to figure out what's going on.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 7:46 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
It is not the problem they are DIFFERENT. They should be the same only if DVD authoring application had placed all the content at the right offset initially.

Dan203 wrote:
OK I tried again with a different video and was able to reproduce the problem where the SB output and Nero output did not match. I'm sending you the a zip file with the original files, SB burnt files and Nero burnt files right now.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 7:47 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
Finally :) Got the stuff, checking this issue right now! Thanks!

Dan203 wrote:
OK the files were a little big for email, so I've uploaded them to my FTP instead. You can download them here...

http://www.videorehost.com/IFO_Patch_Sample.zip

it's only 10 seconds of video, but with all 3 versions it's still about 17MB.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:32 am
Posts: 99
Well the sample I uploaded was produced on my development machine. So if you still need logs to confirm that I'm actually doing what I said I was doing I can get them for you.

Also, while I understand you not wanting to take every customer at their word, I really don't like the attitude you've taken with me in the last few posts. I'm not some kiddie hack asking for programming advice on a news group. I'm a professional programmer, and a paying customer, asking for the support that we paid for when we licensed your product. Yet for some reason you feel the need to treat me like a liar because I didn't send you logs. Well, FYI, we use your SDK as a static lib in an application which contains other elements, one being our registration library, which simply don't work in debug mode. So "shipping the customer a debug version of the DLL" was not an option.

Anyway, let me know if you need anything else from me to fix this. I have paying customers who I'd like to keep happy, and for that to happen I need this to work right.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 2:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
1) No. I have the DVD content and it's all required information we do need from you at this moment. We're going to burn a test DVD and check it working on the whole bunch of the player we have. And find the non-working one (possible "clone" of the device your customer has).

2) Well... The only thing I'm trying to do here is to help you to solve the issue. Sending us logs is the fastest and the most reliable way to do this as it's requires nearly no efforts from you and from your customers. People tend to make a mistakes (even hardcore guys) that's why we're asking about logs. To a) sort out "human factor" and b) have fastest possible turn around. In your case it took me TWO WEEKS to find out you're really enable patching (probably, as I have no idea do you have the same source code in your CVS or SVN and the one your customer has) and also after two weeks we know you cannot send us the logs b/c you've physically disabled them. OK, we'll proceed as is but MUCH slower then we could.

3) StarBurn is always build on the top of the release RTL. Debug build is basically a release one with the logging enabled. So it's not StarBurn guilty in your debug build problems. You've just decided IT'S NOT GOING TO WORK and you've neither checked yourself nor even asked us. Just fine... The same about LIB. It's no problem for us you'll use static build. But tomorrow your customer will have problems with the brand new burner and we'll have no way to find out what's really wrong except to buy the same device and see. And it does not help in some of the cases. And with the static linking you'll have to pass whole application and do rebuild every time instead of just passing DLL for experiments. I can bet your customer will give up and the issue fixing process will take enormous amount of time. See, it's really YOUR time and the only thing we wanted to do - give you some advices about how to speed up the whole communications process.

Dan203 wrote:
Well the sample I uploaded was produced on my development machine. So if you still need logs to confirm that I'm actually doing what I said I was doing I can get them for you.

Also, while I understand you not wanting to take every customer at their word, I really don't like the attitude you've taken with me in the last few posts. I'm not some kiddie hack asking for programming advice on a news group. I'm a professional programmer, and a paying customer, asking for the support that we paid for when we licensed your product. Yet for some reason you feel the need to treat me like a liar because I didn't send you logs. Well, FYI, we use your SDK as a static lib in an application which contains other elements, one being our registration library, which simply don't work in debug mode. So "shipping the customer a debug version of the DLL" was not an option.

Anyway, let me know if you need anything else from me to fix this. I have paying customers who I'd like to keep happy, and for that to happen I need this to work right.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 6:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:32 am
Posts: 99
anton (staff) wrote:
You've just decided IT'S NOT GOING TO WORK and you've neither checked yourself nor even asked us.


FYI, the reason I didn't ask about how to enable logging is because I didn't want to be treated like an idiot again. If you truly wanted to be helpful then you could have explained about the logs from the beginning. Instead all you ever said was "Ship him debug version of the StarBurn.DLL and make produce logs", which implies that a) debug is required and b) DLL is required.

Whatever, I don't want to argue. You obviously have a different approach to support then we do and it caught me off guard. As long as the problem gets fixed I'll be happy again.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
I'm not trying to make you look stupid :) I'm trying to get required information from you & your customer and help you with your (or our?) issue.

"How to enable debug logging?" is the first question in the FAQ. Here's the quote from it just in case:

"How can I enable debug logging with StarBurn?

First of all you'll have to use Debug version of StarBurn. Either statically link to StarBurn.lib from Lib\Static\Debug or replace StarBurn.dll with the one shipped in Bin\Dynamic\Debug folder (StarBurn OCX component is already built with log files support so no additional activities required). Then you need to decide - how do you want to catch logs? You can either have them traced to system debug output (any debug output hooker can view them - we recommend either DebugView from www.sysinternals.com or DbgMon from www.osr.com) or just saved to the log file. In last case you need to run StarBurn.reg file located in Reg folder of StarBurn installation to enable log file generation. Edit DebugFileName field and replace default log file name ("C:\StarBurn.log") with the one you want to use.

Please keep in mind: all of the file log entries are appended! So it's a good idea to delete old file before starting StarBurn application if you want to send log to somebody (for example to us for analyze). We don't need whole of your development history stored there from the very beginning of the Earth".

Dan203 wrote:
anton (staff) wrote:
You've just decided IT'S NOT GOING TO WORK and you've neither checked yourself nor even asked us.


FYI, the reason I didn't ask about how to enable logging is because I didn't want to be treated like an idiot again. If you truly wanted to be helpful then you could have explained about the logs from the beginning. Instead all you ever said was "Ship him debug version of the StarBurn.DLL and make produce logs", which implies that a) debug is required and b) DLL is required.

Whatever, I don't want to argue. You obviously have a different approach to support then we do and it caught me off guard. As long as the problem gets fixed I'll be happy again.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 8:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:32 am
Posts: 99
Any word on a fix for this? Were you even able to reproduce it?

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
Partially. We was not able to find device rejecting the recorded disc BUT I've managed to find out from where the difference between Nero and StarBurn mastered media comes from. I don't want to waste your time so would it be possible to ask you to build your application wiith the DLL and not static lib? As I'll have to replace the DLL during experiments and asking you to re-build the app every time is a pain. So would it be possible for us to have such a version?

Thank you very much for the cooperation!

Dan203 wrote:
Any word on a fix for this? Were you even able to reproduce it?

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:32 am
Posts: 99
To be honest it would be easier for me to rebuild with the static lib every time then it would be to modify the project to use the DLL instead. So if you have something you want me to try just send over the static lib and I'll rebuild. I have a fast quad core machine, so a rebuild takes less then a minute.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 94 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group