#1 Burning Software

It is currently Thu Dec 19, 2024 8:00 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Determining Drive Bluray Capabilities
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 9:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 12:25 am
Posts: 43
Hi

I can't find how to determine whether the drive supports R and W of BluRay Disks as the relevant functions don't reference it:

StarBurn_CdvdBurnerGrabber_GetSupportedMediaFormats[ExEx]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Determining Drive Bluray Capabilities
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 10:52 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
B/c you're looking at the wrong place. These API calls are kept for backward compatibility only. Use

StarBurn_CdvdBurnerGrabber_GetAdvancedSupportedMediaFormats(...)

API call instead of them.

xexx wrote:
Hi

I can't find how to determine whether the drive supports R and W of BluRay Disks as the relevant functions don't reference it:

StarBurn_CdvdBurnerGrabber_GetSupportedMediaFormats[ExEx]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 10:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 12:25 am
Posts: 43
Thanks Anton.

:roll: However you really need to keep your sample code in sync with your releases. Most customers like myself will base their code on your samples, assuming that the latter to be the model of best practice.

At the very least comment the sample code with the disclaimer that "xyz" is no longer the recommended method and "uvy" should be used instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 8:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
You're right! But it's 7.xx version, we're in sync with V10 release.

xexx wrote:
Thanks Anton.

:roll: However you really need to keep your sample code in sync with your releases. Most customers like myself will base their code on your samples, assuming that the latter to be the model of best practice.

At the very least comment the sample code with the disclaimer that "xyz" is no longer the recommended method and "uvy" should be used instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 12:25 am
Posts: 43
Um OK, when will v10 be released?

What happened to versions 8 and 9 :P

P.S. spelling error on:

http://www.rocketdivision.com/starburn.html

"Sysytem"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
1) Very soon.

2) The same what happened to Solaris versions f.e. 4 and 5.

3) Fixed, thanks a lot for pointing!

xexx wrote:
Um OK, when will v10 be released?

What happened to versions 8 and 9 :P

P.S. spelling error on:

http://www.rocketdivision.com/starburn.html

"Sysytem"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 11:55 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Netherlands
2) Sun didn't skip any versions, they only changed their external product names (marketing):

SunOS 4.x - Solaris 1.x
SunOS 5.0 - Solaris 2.0
SunOS 5.1 - Solaris 2.1
SunOS 5.2 - Solaris 2.2
SunOS 5.3 - Solaris 2.3
SunOS 5.4 - Solaris 2.4
SunOS 5.5 - Solaris 2.5
SunOS 5.6 - Solaris 2.6
SunOS 5.7 - Solaris 7
SunOS 5.8 - Solaris 8
SunOS 5.9 - Solaris 9
SunOS 5.10 - Solaris 10

Sun switched from a BSD kernel to a System V kernel when they switched from SunOS 4 to SunOS 5. Then they started to use the new Solaris marketing name for their OS. They left out the major 2. version when they switch from 2.6 to 7. Confusing...? Yes, I agree, but they never really skipped an (internal) version.

Off-topic? Yes, sorry ...

The current version of StarBurn SDK is 7.2.20, which I thought meant 20/02/2007. Does that mean we have to wait until 2010 for version 10?

Regards,
Marcel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
OK, OK... We've also glued two codebases and that's why decided to drop sequential numbering as more then 50% of the code hand been changed. We're not syncing versions with build dates as well.

V10 has been published Gold and we're just completing some final checks. That's the story...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 12:25 am
Posts: 43
To support your argument, Netscape went directly from v4 to v6. Though I trust SB10 will be significantly less buggy than Netscape v6 was :wink:

To those that think v10 has taken a long time to deliver:

http://duke.a-13.net/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
The software gets more and more complicated and it's really difficult to gather all the things together.........................

xexx wrote:
To support your argument, Netscape went directly from v4 to v6. Though I trust SB10 will be significantly less buggy than Netscape v6 was :wink:

To those that think v10 has taken a long time to deliver:

http://duke.a-13.net/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 5:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:51 pm
Posts: 17
And will version 10 available for free for us?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 5:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 6:13 am
Posts: 200
Location: BVI
If you've subscribed less then a year ago - YES.

Calisto wrote:
And will version 10 available for free for us?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 5:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:51 pm
Posts: 17
Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
Nothing for yet :)

Calisto wrote:
Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:45 am
Posts: 7
Location: China
really need to keep your sample code in sync with your releases. Most customers like myself will base their code on your samples, assuming that the latter to be the model of best practice.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group